Upload Overload: Foodie Edition

So if you know anything about me, another serious passion of mine besides clothing is food. Do I love cooking? No. Do I love eating healthy? Yes. And that’s what motivates me. I come from a family where everyone is in shape and a health nut. Growing up my parents always cooked the best, most tasty, healthiest meals and that is where I learned to curate different dishes of my own. Now I am no expert but I do know my taste buds love it and that’s really all that matters right? My gorgeous sister is actually a certified health coach and the biggest (yet tiniest at the same time because she is so small) inspiration. You can check her out here for the most awesome recipes. Oh and did I mention she is successful and absolutely beautiful? I have always looked up to both my sisters my entire life. They have hearts of gold and just always helping people and I love that about them. Now this post isn’t intended to be about my sisters but I guess I can rant and rave about them all day because they are just that awesome. And I love my two brothers as well hehe! Okay, time for my smoothie of the day! I usually wake up in the morning and go to the gym. I don’t eat because I don’t like to feel weighed down. I do not recommend this, however, it does work for me. When I get home from the gym, well, that’s a whole different ball game. My mouth is watering for a smoothie and my stomach (or cellulite) is crying for some grub. I could feel a little lightheaded after a workout probably because I burned so many calories and my sugar levels are low so I make a fruit smoothie. Also, I absolutely love photography and took a couple classes in college so that’s another reason why I wanted to start a foodie category. I get to take pictures!

20140325-151546.jpg

20140325-151553.jpg

20140325-151557.jpg

Berry Bonanza
1 chopped banana (potassium, anti-ulcer, antibacterial, boost immunity, lower blood cholesterol & thickness)
1/2 orange & lemon (antioxidant, anticancer, vitamin C, limonene, choline, carotenoids & coumarins)
Handful of frozen or thawed raspberries (enhances immunity, potassium, niacin, iron & vitamin C)
1cup frozen or thawed blueberries (antidiarrheal, antioxidant, antibacterial, antiviral, tannins, pectin, vitamin C, potassium & fiber)
Handful of baby spinach (anticancer, improves memory, antioxidant, promotes healing, anti-cataracts, anti-anemia, choline, folic acid, vitamin A/C/E, calcium, protein & potassium)
1 teaspoon chia/flax seeds
1 tablespoon unsweetened coconut shreds
1 cup POM Juice

Throw all these bad boys in the blender and viola! You’ve got a smoothie that tastes like Dylan’s Candy Bar in a glass. I highly recommend. Also, so many benefits of this smoothie. Mason drinks every smoothie I make and if a baby can do it, you can too!

2 thoughts on “Upload Overload: Foodie Edition

Leave a Reply

